Meet the team behind the Centre





Management Team



Professor Daping Chu




Professor Daping Chu is Chairman of the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics and Head of the Photonics and Sensors Group at the University of Cambridge.




Dr Saurav Goel

Dr Saurav Goel, is a Lecturer and MRes EPSRC CDT Coordinator at Cranfield University.

The most youngest and active member of the team.

Email Richard Langford [/sf_modal]



Dr Andrew Lewis




Dr Andrew Lewis MA, DIC, MInstP, CPhys, joined the National Physical Laboratory (NPL) in 1988 after graduating from the University of Cambridge with an honours degree in Natural Sciences.




Professor Bill O’Neill




Professor Bill O’Neill is the Director of the Cambridge and Cranfield Centre for Doctoral Training in Ultra Precision which delivers the teaching element of the EPSRC Centre. Bill leads the Centre for Industrial Photonics at the Institute for Manufacturing, University of Cambridge and is a Fellow of Downing College, Cambridge.




Professor Paul Shore




Professor Paul Shore, FREng is the Head of Engineering Divisions at the National Physical Laboratory. The National Physical Laboratory is the national measurement standards laboratory for the United Kingdom and is the largest applied physics organization in the UK. Paul is also Professor of Precision Engineering at Cranfield University and led it’s Precision Engineering Institute from 2002- 2015.




Dr Nicholas Walker




Dr Nicholas Walker is former CEO of Microsharp Corporation Ltd, a company which developed microstructured optical surfaces.  He is director of iXscient Ltd, a company he founded in 2003 which manages major international research and development programmes in microfluidics, optics and sensors.






Administrative Team



Sophie Fuller




Sophie Fuller is the Research Centre Administrator for the Centre for Industrial Photonics at the University of Cambridge and assists Prof Bill O’Neill and his team.

Sophie is also the administrator for the MRes in Ultra Precision course which is delivered through the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Ultra Precision.

Email Sophie Fuller




Centre Steering Group Members

Dr Paul Atherton (Chairman) Nanoventures

Prof Daping Chu University of Cambridge

Gerard Davies EPSRC

Prof Chris Evans University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Chris Rider University of Cambridge

Andrew Hurst Qioptic

Dr Saurav Goel University of Cambridge

Prof Richard Leach University of Nottingham

Dr Peter MacKay Gooch & Housego

Prof Bill Milne University of Cambridge

Paul Morantz (Centre Director) Cranfield University

Martin O’Hara Cranfield University

Prof Bill O’Neill (Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Ultra Precision) University of Cambridge

Neil Prescott Heidenhain (GB) Ltd

Dr Phil Rumsby M-Solv Ltd

Prof Paul Shore National Physical Laboratory

Dr Tom Taylor Centre for Process Innovation Ltd

Prof Tim Wilkinson University of Cambridge

Andy Sellars Innovate UK